Montreal Protocol 25th Anniversary 5k

On Saturday 15 September 2012 the FSM Office of Emergency management in collaboration with the FSM National Olympic Committee organized a five kilometer fun run. The Montreal protocol became the first treaty in history to achieve universal ratification by the parties to ban identified ozone depleting substances. 

The day was rainy and cool, as good as the weather gets for a 5k fun run.
I came in at 27:55 after my lap of the Palm Terrace parking lot, 27:02 on the first pass of the timer. My son attained a personal best of 33:10.  I would note that Wone took first place in the masters division between Elena and I.
There were no prizes on the line, no awards. I heard a couple runners note this as they trimmed back their pace. Some runners, however, dug just as deep and ran just as hard. Those are the runners I admire. 
Runners who push the pace when nothing is on the line. Who run because they can. Who run in the spirit of seeing “…who is fastest.” Who “…run to see who has the most guts, who can punish himself into exhausting pace, and then at the end, punish himself even more.” (Steve Prefontaine). 
I run because I still can run. I pushed my own pace today, which means keeping my juggling balls low, elbows in, arcs short and tight. The balls force the pace of my leg turn-over. Keeping my three tennis balls below the comfort zone – higher is slower, lower is faster – the balls pull me forward at a specific pace. All I do is hang on for the ride. 
Leave a Reply

