College of Micronesia-FSM 5k run

The College of Micronesia-FSM annual 5k launched only two days after my ethnobotany visited Paies, Kitti, to observe a Sounkawad led kousapw perform their nopwei with rahmedel. Although 36 hours had elapsed, I was keenly aware of my own data that suggested six, seven, possibly even fourteen days until one’s endurance running muscles are completely recovered from the impact of sakau. Some of the data I looked out hinted at  an ongoing long term impact.

My son inbound
My son inbound to a 40:48 finish

I would finish the 5k in 29:59 clock, 30:41 with the parking lot loop, despite having felt that I had pushed hard throughout the run. Muscles are not the only impacted system. The lungs are also hit with some sort of impact on the functioning of the lung. Possibly related to the damage done to the cholesterol linked skin repair mechanism.

My daughter on her way to a 55:50
My daughter on her way to a 55:50
Shrue and Pelma
Shrue and Pelma
Winners
Winners

Although slow, I was the first male faculty across the finish line. Santryco on my right was joined by his 19 minute 12-and-under son in front of me, Reloliza is between President Daisy and myself. Christina, Cindy, the 12 and under female winner, and Leslie round out the picture. Gary, picking up the master’s trophy, had already left.

Nice breakfast duo
Nice breakfast duo
Hardware
Hardware

On Sunday evening I went out and pushed hard, running without joggling for an hour and 26 minutes, covering 12.9 kilometers from Dolihner out to Dausokele, back up to the airport, and then home.

Leave a Reply

