Health indicator numbers

My statistics class students are accustomed to my having them make measurements of self and then using that data in the class.

screen-shot-2016-11-16-at-9-47-22-am

In the spirit of a share and share-alike, I share my own numbers when I can. With World Diabetes Day being observed today on campus I had a chance to check my weight, height, blood pressure, and blood sugar. At my present 57 years old, I weighed in at 148 pounds, and remain 67″ tall. Not yet shrinking vertically. I passed my blood pressure and random blood sugar tests with a 111/71 blood pressure and three blood sugar tests one of 81 and two others at 87. This on top of a heavy breakfast of gluten free muesli. I wrapped up with a free flu shot.

If one is left wondering why three blood sugar numbers, the reason is simply statistics. The units that measure blood sugar have their own measurement errors. A check from multiple units provides the ability to calculate an average.

A few days later public health was at a 5k run. I had had some gluten free Muesli for breakfast and done some warming up prior to getting my blood pressure and blood sugar checked.

blood pressure pre runblood sugar

Blood pressure 144 over 85 with a heart rate up around 74. A resting heart rate check a couple months ago put me down just under 55 BPM for a resting rate. The above is after a joggling warm-up trot. I told the public health officer I would come directly in for an immediate post run check.

5k time

I then ran the 5k, finishing at the public health station at a full run. At 57 years old I was the first place master’s finisher. I slammed myself down into a chair, public health indulging me and getting my blood pressure immediately and blood sugar within two minutes of finishing.

blood pressureblood sugar

Immediately post-run my blood pressure was 152 over 84 with a heart rate of 154. Blood sugar had spiked to 124 as my body dumped glucose into my blood stream to power my running.

 

Leave a Reply

