Summer weddings of the youth

My annual social media timeline has seasons. Winter is the season of passings and sad farewells. Spring brings new life and bundles of joy to love. And summer is the season of newly minted nuptial unions. Each June and July my timeline is filled with images of happy young beautiful newlyweds starting the journey of a lifetime. Images of hope and optimism, youthful radiance and health, the strength of the young.

Perhaps I have lived too long in a nation facing epidemic levels of non-communicable diseases often linked to obesity that results from dietary and physical fitness choices or non-choices made during a lifetime. In my age group too many couples are saying their last goodbyes to each other.

In what seems like a short time ago when viewed from where I am at 57 years old, she looked at her future husband and said I do to a youthfully healthy if not outright muscular young man. When she looked at you and said I do, there was an implicit obligation to her to maintain, to the extent the exigencies of time and aging permit, that physique she saw when she said I do.

Perhaps some men have an expectation that their wife should look good for them. I hold rather the expectation that I should do what I can to look good for her. Perhaps I have less hair on my head than when my wife agreed to journey with me, and perhaps I never really had boyish good looks to lose, but I need not arrive in my fifties looking like I might be pregnant with twins.

When you pledge I do to her, pledge also to yourself to work to retain, for her, the physically fit and healthy physique you have on that special day that she said I do to you.

Dana in sauna

Exercise and physical fitness are not things to put off until some doctor recommends them to you in your forties. Exercise and an active lifestyle should begin from your youth. I began running in 1978. I do not run far nor everyday. As I head into my own fall season of life, my running has helped me arrive at 57 without a veranda over the tool shed, healthy blood pressure and blood sugar levels, and legs with a couple muscles in them.

Leave a Reply

